The Free State branch had an active year and decided to retain the past chairman on the committee to ensure continuity. Read more about their activities:

Free State retains talent

The Free State branch held four technical evenings, the most recent of which was combined with the annual general meeting and where the new committee was elected.

A number of interesting technical presentations were made by both rock engineers and company representatives. The topics covered included safety milestones, geotechnical characterisation, support items and their functions, practical aspects pertaining to support installation, seismic related issue and remnant extraction.  

Two of the technical days were followed by sporting events: a bowls game and nine holes of golf.

The committee members are:

Jaco le Roux (chairman), Kevin Brentley (past chairman)

Johan van der Merwe (vice-chairman)

Jaco Venter (treasurer)

Bill Coote (company representative)

Deon Louw and Albert Mokhatla.