Prof. Francois Malan receives Franklyn Award

Prof. Francois Malan was honoured by the ISRM board with the Franklin award at AfriRock 2017 where he presented on “Numerical Modelling of Tabular Excavations: Old Problems and New Solutions”. The Franklyn award is presented annually to recognise the achievements of a mid-career ISRM member who has made a significant contribution to a specific area of Rock Mechanics and/or Rock Engineering in the country where the ISRM annual conference will be hosted.


Dr. Michael du Plessis nominated as the Rocha Award winner for 2017

Dr. Michael du Plessis’s PhD thesis titled “The design and behaviour of crush pillars on the Merensky Reef” was announced by the ISRM board as the best PhD thesis for 2017. The Rocha medal is awarded annually by the international committee to the best PhD study in the field of Rock Mechanics or Rock Engineering. Michael will be receiving the Rocha medal for his study at the next ISRM International conference which will be held in Singapore in 2018.